What's up at Ravens March.

Vintage pens-Handmade books-Silly statements

Posted by Dirck on 1 September, 2016

Day What How Much Duration Pen Ink
  • 29 August
  • 30 August
  • 31 August***
  • 1 September
  • First draft of “Rearranging the Deck Chairs,” after a long think about current projects. *
  • More “Deck Chairs.”
  • First draft of “Deck Chairs” continues.
  • More than I’d expected to get done today!†
  • Three manuscript pages.
  • Five pages**
  • Seven pages.
  • Six pages.
  • 45 min.
  • 45 min.
  • 55 min.
  • 40 min.

* I found the tone of “Considerable Savings of Labour” was wandering from what I wanted, and not in a way that I could say, “Oh, if that’s the way the story wants to run, who is the author to say otherwise?”  The long think was on the theme of how much I would have to strain to get back on track, and the result was to change what I’m at.  Taking a break should derail the unwelcome trend, with the bonus of getting underway on another story that I’m sort of anxious to get down on paper.

** Another hard think before starting, because I actually was jolted out of sleep by a story a couple up the current batting order clamouring for attention.  In the end, I declined to start another story without finishing at least one of those that’s underway– poor policy, yes?– but have made sufficient notes to keep the new fire banked for when it can be blown into a proper inferno.

*** It was a very blustery day, so I went on my lunch walk without my Panama screwed onto my head.  Somehow, I returned without any cries of “Look at the unhatted lunatic!  Save the children!” being raised.

† The unspeakably cheap charger for a small tablet my wife got a couple of years ago became unexpectedly cordless overnight, and part of my writing time was lost to getting a replacement.  Success in the search, and… well, six pages!

Leave a Reply

 
