What's up at Ravens March.

Vintage pens-Handmade books-Silly statements

A Friday Puzzle

Posted by Dirck on 29 April, 2016

No film today, because I have a small mystery I want to share.  The mystery is today’s pen.  Let me show it to you:

Parker 0466

Parker 0466c

I’m not quite sure what it is.

At which point, you begin to back away from the guy who is clearly losing his grip on reality.  It says pretty clearly on the barrel, right?  “Parker Victory,” in nice block letters.  Where’s the mystery?

Well, if one looks at the historic descriptions of the Victory, a pen which gave Parker its foothold in the British Isles as a domestic producer, one finds there are five different versions.  In fact, I invite you to look; this description of the breed has some jolly nice pictures to illustrate three variations, and it’s the last two that concern me.

My pen has the deco arrow clip and is shaped like a Duofold, like a Mk. V… except it’s too fat.  And it has an aluminum button filler, like a Mk. IV… under entirely the wrong shape of blind cap.

It is very like a contemporary Duofold in shape, too.  Here’s one for comparison:

The sections are not quite the same, and check that thin band.

Which is cool, except the Victory Mk. V should look like a thin version of this.  The one comment I’ve had from the collected scholars of a forum suggests a previous version of Duofold, the sort produced from 1948 to 1953, with a Victory imprint.  This is not impossible, especially if one accepts the view that the Victory is a low-income Duofold, but I find it hard to accept that I’ve got the only extant example of such a thing– a Duofold AF marked as a Victory because it’s past its “sell-by” date.

All of which is why I don’t have a page on the site made up for today’s pen.  I don’t know what it is.  It is, though, today’s pen, because I got it working (the point was bent and the sac ossified) and man those Newhaven points are nice.

Today’s ink: Jentle blue-black

One Response to “A Friday Puzzle”

  1. […] « A Friday Puzzle […]

Leave a Reply

 
