What's up at Ravens March.

Vintage pens-Handmade books-Silly statements

After a Long Test-Drive…

Posted by Dirck on 22 March, 2016

I mentioned, back when I first admitted to having the TWSBI Eco, that I would come back and give an update if any problems developed.  Here I am to give an update after using it for about two months.

I’m back! Miss me?

You ghouls may put aside your bibs.  I am not here to speak of problems and failures.  I am still in the Eco fan club, and now I have actual reasons to support the position.

First, let’s talk mileage.  All the fiction writing I’ve done since that entry in January has come out of this pen, and I only just had to re-fill it.  I’ll save you going back through the entries and adding up the page counts– that’s 94 pages.  Before you call for the smelling salts, though, keep in mind that it’s all double-spaced; if I were writing like a normal person, and making allowances for some un-recorded scribbling, we can call it about 50 pages of 8 ½ X 11 loose-leaf of moderate cheapness and absorbency.  Which is… pretty damn good, thinking back to how quickly I could empty my pen at the height of my university note-taking days.  Keep in mind also that it has an extra-fine point, which is going to keep consumption down too.

The other thing I wanted to mention is those little vanes at the front of the ink chamber.  There’s no mention of them in the instructions, but I found that they were useful for wringing all possible writing out of the load of ink.  When the pen was effectively empty, I put it point up, ran the piston forward, and found that the vanes did indeed conduct the last vestiges of the ink to the feed– which last vestiges included what had been clinging to the piston seal thanks to surface tension, and the mere moist vapour that collected on the inside of the chamber, scraped down into a place of use by the piston.  It’s not something you’d like to rely upon during an important exam (and if you filled up ahead of time, you almost certainly wouldn’t have to), but it’s nice to know the potential is there.

The one fly in the ointment I notice is that little lip at the front of the section.  It seems to be there only to make comparisons to the Lamy Safari absolutely mandatory…

I was going to use the Vista, but its lip is hard to see, being transparent.

…and it makes cleaning after refill slightly more tedious than it needs to be.  It’s not a crippling problem, by any means, but I thought I should avoid giving the impression that this pen is Utopia in the shape of a writing instrument.

Today’s pen: Parker 65
Today’s ink: Waterman washable blue 

Leave a Reply

 
