What's up at Ravens March.

Vintage pens-Handmade books-Silly statements

Posted by Dirck on 11 June, 2015

Day What How Much Duration Pen Ink
  • 8 June
  • 9 June
  • 10 June
  • 11 June
  • First draft of Choose Your Own…
  • The same.
  • Almost done… oh, damn.  That thing I forgot.
  • First draft of “Inconvenient Weekend of the Dead”
  • 6 manuscript pages.
  • 6 pages.
  • 7 pages.
  • 4 pages.
  • 45 min.
  • 40 min.
  • 45 min.
  • 30 min.

A couple of reasons for the change of project today.  First, there was yesterday’s triumph of completion followed by the needle-across-record sound of realizing I’d forgotten a bunch of stuff that I’d meant to do after I finished a bit about a month ago.  I need a break from that damn thing, and a short and hopefully humorous story is just the ticket.

There’s not much of it because the expected letter of rejection appeared in my inbox this morning.  It was very polite, and Stoic philosophy is really a good way of keeping life’s blows from smarting, but… well, the wind isn’t out of my sails, but they are out of trim.

Or, to shift metaphor, I’ll see about getting Mickey to cut me, and then it’ll be back into the ring, no problem.

3 Responses to “”

  1. So have you noticed any correlation between pen and progress? If so, please tell me your most productive pen so I can buy one.

    • Alas, there’s no magic in the pen. My daily pen report is a little misleading because for the fiction part of the day I usually set it aside and take up an elderly Sheaffer school pen, rigged to hold ink in the barrel and crammed with an unremarkable Diamine fluid. I’m at least assured that I’m not impeded by the pen doing stupid things, and avoid the pitfall of being distracted by the beauty of the pen itself.

      …although there are moments of fugue where I’m dazzled at how well a really cheap pen from the late 1950s is laying down the ink.

Leave a Reply

 
