What's up at Ravens March.

Vintage pens-Handmade books-Silly statements

Trembling in Every Limb

Posted by Dirck on 7 May, 2015

Day What How Much Duration Pen Ink
  • 4 May
  • 5 May
  • 6 May
  • 7 May
  • Final draft for submission of “A Mighty Fortress is Our God”
  • see below
  • 45 min.
  • 20 min.
  • 40 min.
  • 35 min.

I sit here, having just finished saving and backing up to various clouds, and I think, “I’m done?  Can I be done?”  I gave myself a month, after all, and here I am apparently content that I have polished my story into as deathless and perfect a gem of modern literature as it can be after less than a week of furious frowning, staring at the comments of the helpful volunteer critics, and keeping ego pinned in its cage as much as possible while acting upon those comments.  Several of them, anyway.  I did throw ego the occasional, “You just don’t get me, man!” to keep it from getting outrageous.

This is the point at which I must remember that over-aggressive polishing is eventually destructive.  The plating gives way to mere brass, the fine detail vanishes.  Just put the thing down and let people admire it.

Unfortunately, submissions don’t open until 1 June, so the latter part of that admonition is not yet available.  That not only gives me plenty of time to fall to “Oh, let’s give it one more look,” but also a magnificent span to obsess about ways in which I can foot-shot during the act of submitting.  It’s going to be a fun three weeks in my head.

Leave a Reply

 
