What's up at Ravens March.

Vintage pens-Handmade books-Silly statements

M’nar-ry Christmas? Nope, That’s Not Right….

Posted by Dirck on 15 December, 2014

I’m writing today because I don’t have time to write; a paradoxical statement, but I’m sure the writers in the audience follow the logic of it.

The weekend saw me abusing the dickens out of my magnificent stand-mixer, making double batches of seasonal cookies without irritating all the joints in both arms.  Three pounds of shortbread (of the cornstarch sort; I’m still considering the more traditional Scots version), and about five of speculaas.

Speculaas is not, for those to whom it is a new word, something I’ve just made up.  Its a traditional Dutch cookie I found a brilliant recipe for last year, and it went over so well last year I don’t forsee any problem getting that much finished cookie into appreciative gullets.  The thing about speculaas is that it’s meant to be molded, and I didn’t trouble with gathering up the family molds this year– because they were a little tedious last year, and the last thing I wanted to introduce into a batch of 150 cookies was extra work.  I just rolled it out, used a pizza wheel to bang it into appropriate oblongs, and only four man-hours later I was done.

…except of a little dough left over when the last tray was full.  Madness and the creative impulse got into me then, and while that now-penultimate batch was cooking, I made some art.  If one uses a very broad definition along the lines of that presented in the seventh chapter of Scott McCloud’s treatise on sequential art.

Cthoookie

 

“It represented a monster of vaguely anthropoid outline, but with an octopus-like head whose face was a mass of feelers, a scaly, rubbery-looking body, prodigious claws on hind and fore feet, and long, narrow wings behind. This thing, which seemed instinct with a fearsome and unnatural malignancy, was of a somewhat bloated corpulence, and squatted evilly on a rectangular block…,” as initially described. I might have done better if I’d had the sketch at hand instead of working from memory.

I’m among those who wonder if it will ever get eaten.

Today’s pen: Sheaffer Valiant TD
Today’s ink: Pelikan Brilliant Brown

Leave a Reply

 
