What's up at Ravens March.

Vintage pens-Handmade books-Silly statements

Posted by Dirck on 19 June, 2014

WHAT: Third draft of short story “Common Wall”; I have very nearly dug all the charred timbers out of the foundation, and there’s some sawing of the new joists begun, if I can stretch a metaphor into a funny shape.

HOW MUCH:  A couple of paragraphs of all-new material.  A lot of removals, re-arrangements, and amendments.  We’ll just have to see how the final word count compares to the second draft when I’m done.

HOW LONG: About 45 min.

And if I can step out of my set pattern for a moment: I don’t set up to be a “writing blog” by any means, but I will pass along some useful advice that I’ve gleaned from glancing at useful examples of such creatures.  The advice is this– let other people read your stories, and insist that they not be nice about them.  The holocaust which overtook “Common Wall” is a good thing, for all that it touches on my pride as a setter-forth of perfect gems of prose; the accelerant used in the destruction was insightful criticism.  Pages of it, almost more words than the story itself came to.  I’m profoundly grateful for it, and the story (and hopefully, everything else I ever write) will be better for it.

Today’s pen: Lamy Studio
Today’s ink: Diamine Syrah

Leave a Reply

 
