What's up at Ravens March.

Vintage pens-Handmade books-Silly statements

Posted by Dirck on 4 June, 2014

WHAT: First draft of short story “Yard Light”.

HOW MUCH: 2 pages of manuscript, which concludes the draft, AT LAST.  The distressing thing is the realization that, for all I’ve effectively filled a 120 page notebook (but not on both sides because of the bleedthrough), I charged through a lot of necessary laying out of the groundwork that gives any realism to the eventual action of the piece.  The protagonist needs to be creeping towards obsession through isolation, not mildly concerned about distant neighbours through a combination of curiosity and boredom.  Second draft is going to need a LOT of extra material, so I don’t expect I’ll be thrusting this at my readers until it’s had a third.

…and I’m not touching it again for a while.  Those last ten pages or so really took it out of me.

HOW LONG: About 20 min., which I’ll also pontificate about– these indications of time spent are very artificial, as they only encompass the actual, mechanical, scraping of words onto a page.  I don’t claim to speak for all writers, but I don’t think I’m unique in that the project of the moment, or its near successors, are never very far from mind, and there is a lot more interior gestation of the item than these observable actions indicate.  However, I feel a little funny at the prospect of noting down “spent 10 min. staring fixedly at point in middle distance, wrote down rather good couple of sentences at end of session.”

Today’s pen: Lamy Studio
Today’s ink: Diamine Syrah

…and since I’m big on the horror side of fiction, here’s one to contemplate: The nagging sensation that a rather good idea for a story missed getting written down, and all that remains of it is this same nagging sensation.  I’ll bet that sent some chills down your spines, didn’t it?

Leave a Reply

 
