What's up at Ravens March.

Vintage pens-Handmade books-Silly statements

The One-Eared Beauty

Posted by Dirck on 6 January, 2014

I was going to do more of a “Hey, I’m back!” entry, but there’s a mort of work here at The Regular Job which needs setting fire to.  I am, therefore, going to make a brief comment about setting fire to things.

Or rather, wanting to set fire to things because it’s very very very cold in much of North America.  What the vast majority of north-central and -eastern bits of the continent are getting right now is what I understand as winter temperatures.  I come not to gloat, but to offer sympathy and advice.  I frequently explain winter here as a natural disaster you know is coming and for which dressing properly is the necessary response.  That second bit comes from experience, of course, and right now there’s a lot of people who have no experience of these temperatures struggling along under them.  Let me give some capsule advice, to spread around to those you know who might need it.

Winter is not your enemy… no, it is, but it’s not at the top of the podium.  Vanity is your enemy.  If you’re going to go out in this stuff, Vanity needs to be nailed firmly to a wall in the back of a closet where no one will find its corpse until spring.  I know that in my long coat, shaggy sweater, outsided ear-flappy hat and all-encompassing scarf I do not look particularly cool, but I accept that as part of feeling warm.  Prior to writing this, I went on my usual 20 minute round-trip walk, and the wind-chill is rather below -45; I was no more than aware that it was cold out, mainly due to the build-up of ice on the scarf.

Layers.  Loads of them.  Co-ordination of colour and style are quite secondary.  That and “this can’t last” will see you through.  If Vanity proved too lively to subdue with simple self-defensive measures, consider this– the difference between frost-bite and freezer-burn is that the latter isn’t attached to your body (until a doctor removes it to prevent gangrene).  Not looking funny for a trip out to the grocery store now can lead to a lifetime of hideous deformity later.  Try that on for size, Vanity.

And lest anyone think I’m smug, I know at the front of my mind how lucky I am to live in a place that gets cold without a lot of snow.  The Maritimes are a place I wouldn’t wish anyone to be just now, even though I know that they’re used to that sort of thing.

Today’s pen: TWSBI Vac 700
Today’s ink: Wancher Imari

 

Leave a Reply

 
