What's up at Ravens March.

Vintage pens-Handmade books-Silly statements

Blues for Red

Posted by Dirck on 5 December, 2013

(Please imagine today’s entry is presented by Mississippi Gary; as authentic a blues shouter as I am)

The vile minx!

The vile minx!

I thought I’d paid my dues

I know not to use glues

But this pen of two hues

Gives me the Red Ripple Blues.

I grip it, I heat it, but I can’t defeat it,

It just won’t let that section go!

I know I can’t soak it, don’t want to say “I broke it,”

So all I got is my woe.

It’s a nothing little job, not worth all this stink,

But I’m stopped in my track by a little bit of ink,

I am driven nearer to drink!

There ain’t nothin’ to do,

Just keep trying ’til I’m through,

I got a big bad case of those mean ol’ Waterman Red Ripple Blues!

*  *  *

Context: The problem, you see, it twofold.  Red ripples have a reputation for more than usual fragility (any colour other than black, among hard rubbers, is somewhat flimsy).  You must not soak hard rubber of any hue, lest discolouration occur.  Thus, when presented with a red ripple 52 whose section is cemented in place by what may be a whole bottle of blue ink, getting into the pen becomes a bit of a challenge.  So far, the action has been to dip to the joint in rather cold water and wipe immediately, which has been successful in getting vast amounts of blue out of that little friction-fit space, followed after 15 or 20 repetitions with heating and careful tugging.  So far its a stale mate; the pen is not reduced to its component parts, but it is also not reduced to fragments.  The battle continues.

…and I never claimed to be poet not song-writer, so you may take your scansion complaints elsewhere.

Today’s pen: Sheaffer 8C
Today’s ink: Jentle blue-black

 

3 Responses to “Blues for Red”

  1. That’s a nice’un. Is that your red ripple or are you waging this battle on someone else’s pen? Quite a conundrum there. Any insight from the Zorns of the world on FPN?

    • All I’ve been able to find is “keep at it– it eventually comes free.” The fact that it isn’t my own has some good and bad effects, in that I’m disinclined to rush because I don’t want to buy a pen I know is broken (especially if I also know HOW) but bad because I’d like to get it done and on its way home. The client is aware of the problem, and is also a practitioner of patience, so that second element is less pressing.

Leave a Reply

 
