What's up at Ravens March.

Vintage pens-Handmade books-Silly statements

Paint it Gray

Posted by Dirck on 28 November, 2013

Yesterday’s silence was the result of a collapse of Regular Job’s communications (the IT department has not been making its regularly-scheduled monolith touches).  Amusement!

Today, I find that Seasonal Affective Disorder is putting in an early appearance and it’s using both hands.  I’m declining to do much of an entry today because every start I’ve made quickly transforms into petty complaining.  More than usually petty complaining.  I’m sorry not to be doing my job of distracting my few American readers from going out and shopping, but I don’t have anything I’m willing to inflict on others, even in the wake of what was one of the better job interviews I’ve experienced (no results to report) and a south-facing window seat as a consequence of last week’s move.  There may also be a virus involved.

To make up for my lassitude, here’s a link to something quite worth reading on the topic of the artistic impulse and its value in society.

Today’s pen: Pelikan New Classic
Today’s ink: Diamine Evergreen

Yesterday’s pen: Parker Vacumatic
Tomorrow’s ink: Herbin Éclat de Saphir

3 Responses to “Paint it Gray”

  1. Maja said

    Hi Dirck, I’m just catching up on some old posts of yours, and wanted to ask if you’ve considered using a SAD lamp (ie. light therapy)? I use a Day-Light Sky 10,000 LUX Bright model (note: you need 10.000 Lux for therapeutic purposes) purchased from Amazon. Thirty minutes a day in the early morning is all it takes. You can read while using it, and it provides *fantastic* light for pen repairs ; I’ve been on several prescriptions meds for my condition over the years (and I’m still on one) but I find the light therapy to have an additive beneficial effect. Best of luck!

    • I’ve given it a thought. I’m lucky in that the ol’ black dog is not quite big enough in my case to call for medication, which means when it’s not present I hardly think of it. That and the “beh. why bother?” aspect of its presence means I’ve never quite gotten around to the purchase. Perhaps I’ll put it on my Christmas list.

      • Maja said

        It’s worth a try…… and it’s not some kind of quack treatment, either; the world-renowned Mayo Clinic says it can be effective on its own, or in combination with medication and/or counseling. I just thought it was worth mentioning, as you alluded to SAD a few times in past blog posts….. And it makes a heck of a light for pen repairs–the amount of detail you can see with it is amazing 🙂

Leave a Reply

 
