What's up at Ravens March.

Vintage pens-Handmade books-Silly statements

Archive for September 23rd, 2013

Rooftop Reflections

Posted by Dirck on 23 September, 2013

This past weekend, I returned to the roof of my previous dismay, through the borrowing of a ladder and a fixed avoidance of reading its load rating until the job was done.    The job is done, I find that a 15% overload is within the ladder’s powers, and I surge into the new week in an un-sprained state.

I mention this in part to complete the ladder chapter of my chronicles, but also to set the context for this rather short entry.  I actually like being up on a residential roof– it’s quiet, it’s not too windy, and when the reclining-upon-satisfactory-completion phase of the enterprise it provides firm support.  Restful.  If not for the fact that getting up there is a bit of a struggle and that usually just a prelude to a prolonged and unpleasant task, I’d probably spend more summer hours aloft.

While I was engaged in the disposal of the little thin forest that was establishing itself in my gutters, I was listening to the adventures of the H.P. Podcraft Literary Podcast team in their trip to the NecronomiCon.  As part of this report, they were commenting on some of Lovecraft’s writing but not, as is their usual stock, his intellectual property.  They were talking about the actual artifacts of his waving a pen around over a sheet of paper, some of which they’d had a chance to glimpse at.

Why this struck me is that, in very short form, they repeated some of my (admittedly non-original) contemplation of the connection possible between writer and reader.  It’s not a big deal, but as I sat on the edge of a yawning abyss (fourteen feet!) it was a pleasing little coincidence to cuddle up to.

Today’s pen: Parker Super 21
Today’s ink: Jentle blue-black

Posted in General Blather | Tagged: , , , , , , | Leave a Comment »