What's up at Ravens March.

Vintage pens-Handmade books-Silly statements

Come the Millenium

Posted by Dirck on 10 July, 2013

Let me show you something which will be, by the time you see it, no longer true:

"Right Now" being then, as it were.

“Right Now” being then, as it were.

I’ve filled a thousand of these things.  Holy geez.  I will admit that when I realized what the count was yesterday I slightly regretted not having selected a Parker 50 for the vague Star Wars joke that could be founded upon it.

Another regret is that I don’t have any sort of interesting give-away in hand for this (purportedly) momentous occasion.  As usual, my own greed is a primary element in this state of affairs, but there’s also the matter of suitability.  I know I have given away some marginal Chinese pens in the past, but they generally had some aspect of interest in them.  Just at the moment, there’s a Reform that needs a heap of work on the point and feed, some rather tatty Wearevers, and… nothing that isn’t in pieces or missing a part.  Since the cubed tenth snuck up on me (a sign of how well I pay attention), all my largesse ideas were aimed at the site’s second relight anniversary– and that will be both worth the hubbub and announced well in advance.

As it stands, I think I’ll just pause a moment to mop my brow with a filthy cambric handkerchief while leaning upon the rustic and imaginary digital pitchfork I use to sling bits at the heap and feel the satisfaction of a job… hm.  Not “well done”, since it’s never really done and only intermittently worth a gander.  Shall I say “satisfyingly entered into,” perhaps?

 A long time past I contemplated how many words I’d heaped up in pursuit of this relatively empty howling, and lamented that the same effort wasn’t being applied to the fiction-writing I would like to one day thrust upon the world.  I now realize that I’m only doing my part in the grand labour of modern humanity– creating as much data every day as possible, whether it’s of any utility or not.  I read, after all, that just about all the data ever created has fizzed into existence in the past two years.  Isn’t that great?  We’ve made a huge pile of… well, nothing at all, really, unless it gets printed out.  And here I’ve just made another fine lump of self-referential meta-cognition.  The day’s quota, met!

It does make me wonder how much headway that Prizm thing would actually make.  I know I don’t try to shovel snow while a blizzard is underway.

Today’s quietly celebratory pen: Pelikan Souverän M600
Today’s ink: Mont Blanc Racing Green 

edited to add:

The odometer, having clicked, clicks on....

The odometer, having clicked, clicks on….

4 Responses to “Come the Millenium”

  1. Andrew MB said

    1000!
    Well a congratulation for your persistence and perspective, and more often than not your decidedly Canadian self-abasing wit . You are a treasure on this electronic wasteland. I appreciate your daily effort, and hope you have more in store.
    Andrew MB

    • I hope I’ve got more in store too… you haven’t heard something, have you?

      …and frankly, that kind of praise is exactly the sort of thing to see me fleeing for the safety and concealment of under-the-bed. Shucks, gosh, and similar.

  2. flounder said

    Congratulations on this momentous milestone! Looking forward to your next 1000 posts. Long may the raven march,

Leave a Reply

 
