What's up at Ravens March.

Vintage pens-Handmade books-Silly statements

The Usual Roller Coaster

Posted by Dirck on 29 April, 2013

Frankly, I rather prefer non-metaphorical roller coasters.  Assuming one’s glasses don’t disappear into the ether during the ride and everyone else on the trolley has a sensible approach to sequencing regarding random g-loading and overindulgence in root beer and corn dogs, they’re fun and of low consequence.  Metaphorical roller-coasters, on the other hand, are more apt to leave one exhilarated and remembering the valleys more than the peaks.

So, with the clicking of the lift-chain now done, let me tell you about my weekend.  Down we go into a distraction which in only in remission, and which promises to flare up all summer long; the first drop is always the big one.  A good chunk of Saturday morning was lost to a scouting out of a house which my father converted into an office about twenty years ago.  The past several years, he’s been in a partnership with a fellow with rather more spacious digs, and he’s decided that it’s about time to give up on his base of operations.  There’s some rather nice furniture in there he’s got nowhere for… and which his sons would love to take if there were way more floor space in either of their houses.  This shifting, re-laying, and making of unwelcome decisions will linger through the rest of the warm months.  I brought home a couple of things that were easily carried by me alone, and my wife and I are already on the very edge of the non-fun sort of madness from the crowding it’s caused.  The bigger desirable things may end up forming lessons in the virtue of detachment.

But then we sweep up into working on pens! WHEEE!  I bought a replacement point for my Pelikan M600 for the purposes of experimentation.  Before anyone starts wondering where the money for that came from, I’ll mention that it’s not actually an M600 point, but rather a steel M150 unit.  It looks a little funny, being to the wrong scale, but it works and it cost about 1/5 what the regulation item goes for.  I wanted to have another run at reshaping the tipping with a clear notion of what the end-point should be, as another step along the path to doing to to/for other people.  The B point that I started with is now a pleasant-writing 1mm stub which inverts to write with a smooth F line, and I’m pretty happy both with the speed of the process and the result that my non-powered point-grinding apparatus produced, but given a couple of breath-holding moments during the task, I’m not quite ready to start advertising it as a service.  Say… I wonder if I might set up a Kickstarter to pay for some points I can practice upon?

The next descent is also family related.  My son has entered into a bit of a phase of authority-questioning, and that’s not a lot of fun.  Since some of the questions he harbours are in the area of “Sure, they say taking light-bulbs out of sockets is bad…” it’s not the sort of thing we can really ignore while it runs its course.  My dark inward Darwinist thinks that the matter will get settled a lot more quickly if the mite tastes some of the consequences of his actions, but the voting majority of internal sub-aspects think that it’s very hard to tell just how extensive those consequences might be and permanent disfigurement of himself or another might be a little too far to go for a suitable lesson.  Averting same is starting to get very tiring, though.

Up: Resacking of some Parker converters.  Not a big deal, but it’s nice to have it in hand, and to get a couple of extra slender converters in reserve.

Down: Persistent wickedness of a Waterman Taperite section on a client’s pen.  It’s very nearly at the point of throwing in the towel, as a couple of relatively clever tools have not turned the tide on it.  This stinks both because I hate to not get the pen back on its feet, and because it complicates a billing; it’s just one of several pens of his I’ve been working on, and the others have all responded to treatment.

Up: The final return to service yesterday of today’s pen, and the coincidental(?) appearance of reasonable weather, complete with dazzling sunshine, chirping birds and even a couple of butterflies.  The snow in the backyard is now merely half-shin deep, and waning briskly.

And the last drop of the ride, the one that brings the whole giddy affair to an end… I hardly like to name it.  As I was retiring last night, I found that one of the cats, and I’m pretty sure I know which, decided for reasons only a cat could formulate, that a new place to stink up was needed, and that place was the little chest of drawers which serves me as a bedside table.  It also serves as a place to store some of my own pens (client pens and cats are NOT allowed to mix, of course), and the fouling managed to penetrate inside a drawer.  Fortunately, I found the problem mere moments after its creation, so nothing was ruined, but it’s a hell of a way to finish a weekend and sees a score of boxed pens needing a new place to live, since I can’t trust that drawer any longer.

I could, indeed, do with a couple of days off.

Today’s pen (sweet, shining solace!): Sheaffer Imperial Triumph
Today’s ink: Herbin Poussière de Lune

2 Responses to “The Usual Roller Coaster”

  1. Oh dear. It’s never good when the cats decide on new places to take care of business. How are you liking that steel nib? I have one on my M205, and I’m not sure how I feel about it. I think I would like it better if it were a M or a B, but it’s a fine nib and it practically scratches the paper to shreds.

    • Well, it was pretty good ab initio in it’s wide-rumped B-ness, and despite the aforementioned holdings of breath it’s running quite sweetly now. It is, however, certainly not at all like its previous self and whatever warranty might have applies is lying in microscopic fragments on my workbench– I’d BETTER like it now. The slit is slightly to one side, though, and that can make for problems; perhaps yours is similarly afflicted.

Leave a Reply

 
