What's up at Ravens March.

Vintage pens-Handmade books-Silly statements

Colour Out of Mind

Posted by Dirck on 16 April, 2013

Well, I got my little project  from yesterday finished, and somewhat oversold it in the bargain (no cures for dread maladies here), and I can think about other things again.  What I’m thinking about currently, in the persistently monochrome setting we’ve got around here (the very very little melting we’ve enjoyed has revealed the brown drifts of road sand applied in great lashing since early November), is colour.

This contemplation harks back to the recently announced Edison Pens 2013 LE Morgan.  I’m not given to LE envy, so despite the general charms of Edison’s products (I’ve had a couple under my hands) this isn’t something I would normal consider at any length.  However, in stumbling past this notice, I found my eye caught in a very nearly literal way, by one of the examples:

Sizzlin' hot!

Sizzlin’ hot!

It’s not unattractive, but it isn’t a pattern that I instantly associate with the concept of “pen”.  My own powers of association are, however, somewhat reactive, so once I saw this thingI started thinking of other unlikely colours for pens.  I got…

…which are all, when one thinks about it, rather unlikely.  There is this to be said for them, though– they’re all festive enough.  I comprehend the decorative element in them. Looking at some other colours that pens have emerged in, though, I do a little head scratching.

Sheaffer’s 1950s pastel blue, for example, is fairly uninspiring. It is a colour, at least…

…while grey is sort of by definition a non-colour.

Having frequently spouted off about the capacity for personal expression which pens represent, I’m not going to do anything other than scratch my head over those.  To say (outside a fairly specific fictional setting) “That’s a funny colour” is to instantly invoke subjectivity.  I don’t have anything profound to wrap this up with, or at least nothing more profound than a vague gesture in the direction of the diversity of human opinion regarding what’s attractive, and the capacity of humans to throw stuff together in the pursuit of making things that are attractive.  We’re a funny old bunch.

Today’s pen, in an appealing dark blue: Parker VS
Today’s ink, which few in their right mind would use: Pelikan Brilliant Brown

3 Responses to “Colour Out of Mind”

  1. maja said

    Love the pen “family albums” to which you linked in your post above! As far as I know, there is no pen reference book dedicated solely to Sheaffers, so your information is v. useful. As for the issue of “unlikely colours”….Well, I’ll give you the blue & blue Guider “Mani” and the pink & brown Wyvern….. but the nacre (pearl & black) pattern of the Wahl “Oxford” wasn’t unusual (back in its day); I’ve seen oodles of pens in that pattern…..

    • None of the above are really out of place in their time/place. The Mani, being modern, is in the same camp as the Edison. The Wahl is a representative of a pretty common pattern, certainly, but I think I can still say, “What kind of though processes suggested that?” in a tone of wonder. The same question and tone can be applied to a lot of common things, like eating lobster or woven cloth, and it’s probably for the best to not devote to much time to trying to form an answer 😉

      edit– …and thank you, by the way. I don’t so much forget my manners as set them down in an obscure corner.

      • maja said

        You’re welcome. I wish more modern pen companies took chances with colour. I am a fan of the Krone-offshoot “THINK” brand of pens, but I know they’re not to everyone’s taste 🙂

Leave a Reply

 
