What's up at Ravens March.

Vintage pens-Handmade books-Silly statements

Another One Gone

Posted by Dirck on 2 April, 2013

There’s been another departure in the pen world, which I’ve just noticed.  I refer not to the terrible loss of pen reviewing power reported yesterday, Stephen Brown’s retirement— that is, of course, just a Poisson d’Avril.  No, the departure is an entirely serious one, and rather than link to it as the evidence is apt to fade from the web, I’ll take a picture.

I should probably have kept the copyright notice at the bottom.

I should probably have kept the copyright notice at the bottom.  I hope he won’t mind, but just to be clear– images and words in the frame above are © 2013 Tyler Dahl

Tyler was someone I was happy to recommend as an alternative to me, and it was while composing such a recommendation that I discovered this upsetting development.  “Do I remember a-right that he handles Sheaffer vac fillers?” I said to myself.  “Let me have a look at his site… oh, bloody hell.”

This is not the first time this sort of thing has happened, and as with my previous notice I understand the underlying problem and empathize deeply.  A little change in the household economy (in the broad sense of the word), and I could easily find myself in the same situation.  Currently, the great impediment to my pen work, apart from The Regular Job, is my son’s jolly insistence on parental attendance and the frazzle this can reduce either of us to when the other isn’t available to pitch in.  This is improving with his going to school… but as my wife noted yesterday when I got home, she’s now out of practice for day-long sessions.  The miniscule backlog I can currently boast about (things that arrived last Friday won’t be attended to until this coming weekend!)  is largely down to him being slightly more than commonly rowdy.  What will summer, assuming it eventually turns up, be like?

For the moment, though, I press on.  There was a bit, somewhat connected to the lost weekend, when gloom threatened to engulf me.  The one bit of pennery I thought I had time for, an attempt to extract a filler from a Vacumatic I’ve had about the place for ages, went… poorly.  That got together with the prospect of Winter without end to beat up my reserves of optimist and energy, and I wondered whether it was really worth bothering any more.  Manifest melting, slow though it is, has lifted some of the darkness,  and a successful resolution to cap problem I mentioned a week ago Monday has gotten me back into the right way of thinking.  Pens can be fixed, and I’m capable of fixing them!

Except for those wretched vacuum fillers.  They still perplex and confound me.

Today’s pen: Sheaffer Statesman Snorkel
Today’s ink: Skrip Turquoise

 

3 Responses to “Another One Gone”

  1. Maja said

    Well, Tyler is only 18 or 19 years old and based on his old blog posts, I think he’s trying to figure out what career path to take, so I’m actually very happy that he’s taking the time to find out 🙂
    I do regret, however, that I didn’t take advantage of his nib-grinding skills; I would have loved to have had him regrind a fountain pen nib of mine.

Leave a Reply

 
