What's up at Ravens March.

Vintage pens-Handmade books-Silly statements

Totalitarian Approach

Posted by Dirck on 8 February, 2013

I’m sure most will have already seen this, but it stands a repetition.  It also stands some looking about to see if anyone of a sensitive constitution is on hand, as it’s slightly gory. The other thing it is: completely resistant to embedding in this format. So, here’s a link to go to the home of Grammar Nazis.

I can’t decide whether it concludes with an appropriate comeuppance for overblown pedantry, or with a laudable trueness of purpose.  Basil Fawlty or Rorschach?  Possibly both?  As a pedant myself, I lean towards the latter, and on that point… could they not have gotten him a fountain pen of some sort?

Today’s pen: Pelikan Souverän M600 (still just a picture)
Today’s ink: Pelikan 4001 blue-black

p.s.– I belatedly read of an indignity about to descend via a different bureaucratic oppressor from that which gripped Europe in the early 1940s.  Read thou also, and then add the included address to your IncoWriMo schedule.

5 Responses to “Totalitarian Approach”

  1. It may be really wrong to admit this but I laughed myself silly at that sketch. The comeuppance at the end was perfect.

    I’m so glad to see that you and your Pellie are still having such a good time! Mine greets you in solidarity.

    • Monday will be the point at which we discover if I can enact Nietzsche’s directive to crush out all sentiment and take up another pen. From now until then, it’s all Pelikan, all the time!

      …and I’m pretty sure that it’s never wrong to laugh at the self-destruction of a dedicated Nazi. If he’d been worth saving, he’d have made room for rhetorical flourishes.

  2. Maja said

    My husband and I just saw “Inglourious Basterds” last week. The above parody is actually very well-done, although I think the guy playing M. LaPadite could have done a better French accent.The button-filler used by Col. Landa in the real film was kind of neat; I read some threads on FPN that suggested a German-made button-filler (perhaps by MB, Osmia or Soennecken). Another FPNer said he/she concluded it was a Parker, after enhancing some frames from the DVD.

    • It struck me as a Parker Duofold of roughly that year, but given the brevity of the on-screen appearance and the (dare I say it?) rough similarity of most pens of the day, I wouldn’t stake my little French farm or the safety of my three remarkably near-in-age daughters on it.

      • Maja said

        A pen made by an American company never entered my head, given the wartime setting, but you never know….And I thought for certain that at least one of the farmer’s daughters was the Jewish neighbours’ daughter. Interesting film, although I am not a fan of long, drawn-out scenes of torture as depicted a bit later in the film Have a good weekend!

Leave a Reply

 
