What's up at Ravens March.

Vintage pens-Handmade books-Silly statements

Hibernation? Le Hiver Nation?

Posted by Dirck on 11 January, 2013

I’m off.  Outta here.  Departing.  I’m fed up with this.

I’m also a filthy liar, or at least a trifler-with of untruths.  I’m taking the next week off from The Regular Job, because it’s been about six months since I did something of the sort and it seems a good way of quelling the urge to fling a stapler at certain heads.  So, I’m off for a week, and since I’m fed up with the increasingly shambolical state of my Palace of Contempation (being the 78 square foot room my home computer lives in), much of the time I spend there will be with mop, bucket and duster in hand rather than with clever things to say about pens in mind.

I am not, however, departing in the more capacious sense of the word.  Last year’s flight (which can be taken in both its airborne and absconding senses) to the self-proclaimed Happiest Place on Earth is not to repeat this year, and a great pity it is.  The relatively fine weather we’ve been enjoying since the year began concluded last night with 30cm (about a foot, or 47 bee spaces) of snow as a prelude to a temperature drop of about 20°c.  This is not as rude as the 75cm of snow we’re told Newfoundland is even now getting, but it’s not a great deal of fun, and buggering off to a padded expanse of Florida would certainly have been nice.  Even hibernation is not possible, thanks to the activity of my son and the continuing proper function of my thyroid; I shall be awake and aware for about 68% of the whole period, however cold and uncongenial some parts of it may become.

A week from Monday, I’ll be back, no doubt trembling in every limb from the effort of disinterring the house from its drift.  I may even have a thing or two to say about my new Kaweco and an unexpected Waterman… but until then, here is the story of my upcoming week, with Daffy Duck kindly stepping in for me:

Today’s pen: Merlin 33
Today’s ink:  Diamine Evergreen

Leave a Reply

 
