What's up at Ravens March.

Vintage pens-Handmade books-Silly statements

I Hope There’s a Bottom….

Posted by Dirck on 7 January, 2013

I’ve fallen into a bit of a depression over the weekend, and I don’t seem to be able to organize my thoughts about anything else at the moment.  It’s not the usual seasonal thing, but regards an exchange on Facebook.  Part of the depression is that I’m letting that sort of thing affect me at any level, of course, but that’s not the whole story.

…and, in fact, I don’t know that this is the venue for the whole story, as there’s politics at the base of it.  In essence, there’s some people on Facebook who I have known for a while who have shown a startling failure of sympathy; whether they have sympathy for the cause is neither here nor there, as what’s got me down is the willingness to minimize the suffering of a fellow human, and indeed an entire category of fellow humans.  I didn’t think I’d been acquainted with that sort of people, and the fact that I have been has got me down.  The fact that I can’t think of a way to explain why this is a problem to either of them puts a booster on the effect.

So that’s it for me today.  I’ll try to pull myself up off the floor and be interesting tomorrow.  I’ll just finish by saying that there’s no commenting available on this post because the last thing I want is to bring that discussion into a whole new venue and I will prevent it even at the risk of losing expressions of sympathy directed towards me and my mopishness.  I’m just going to go around the back and sing a round of “Mankind Should Have Been My Business” with Jake Marley and the Social Conscience Band.

Today’s pen: Merlin 33
Today’s ink:  Diamine Evergreen

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

 
