What's up at Ravens March.

Vintage pens-Handmade books-Silly statements

Bomb Site

Posted by Dirck on 4 January, 2013

In lieu of a film, here’s a little toy I’ve stumbled upon which fits the backward-glancing I’m currently engaged in (and will soon drop).  Some industrious folks have charted out the places in which bombs were dropped during the London Blitz.  A friend of mine (in spite of the so-called generation gap which should yawn between us) who lived in East Finchley during the festivities declares that the bombs on his block are misplaced by a matter of several feet, but we may perhaps forgive a little error seventy years on and perhaps include the old saw about close being good enough for horseshoes to medium and large aerial munitions.

What I find really astonishing about this map is that, at the end of the blitz, there was something recognizably London-ish still standing.  Zoom out until you can see the whole of the city, and join in my amazement.

Today’s pen: Rotring Skynn 
Today’s ink: Lamy green (I just realized… there’s noting in my pocket today that’s not German)

5 Responses to “Bomb Site”

  1. That is a fantastic site—I’ll be spending some time there. It is amazing, isn’t it, that despite the number of bombs and V-rockets pummeling London, St. Paul’s didn’t get demolished or badly damaged. I can’t imagine how it must have felt to see the dome still intact, against the backdrop of horror and flames.

    That being said, all my pens in my pen roll today are from the former Axis powers. Go figure.

    • My father and the friend mentioned above spent an afternoon reminiscing about the fun of living under V-1 flyways; my father was a good deal nearer the launcher, but sometimes the guidance packages got a little whimsical. It’s something I’m not too sorry to have missed.

      Neither seems too opposed to the notion of ex-Axis consumer products; rehabilitation is possible, it appears.

  2. Walter said

    Thank you for sharing this. I see that a few bombs landed within the vicinity of my Great Grandmother’s home on Harcourt Street near Marylebone Road by Paddington Chapel. I remember speaking with family who lived through the horror of the blitz, they called the V-1’s “doodlebugs” and disliked them more than the regular bombs for their randomness and stealth. Apparently, it was preferable to hear the bombers and watch them coming on and take appropriate measures. The Germans were always referred to as “Jerry”.

    • The informed discussions re: V-1s I was privy to were in agreement that they were the worst thing in the world from the time you heard them until they were directly overhead. If you STILL heard them after that, small rejoicing was done.

Leave a Reply

 
