What's up at Ravens March.

Vintage pens-Handmade books-Silly statements

Imperfection

Posted by Dirck on 20 November, 2012

I was so excited about the mini-review reviewing the Mini that I forgot to update the plight of Red Leader.  Let me remind you of where we last saw him:

One might say, “Ooh, that’ll leave a mark.”

As I mentioned last week, I had high hopes.  The welds looked solid, and with the removal of the old glue from the section there seemed a good chance they would continue to.  Then, there was the matter of reducing the evidence of the repair.  In that department… well, I’m not absolutely delirious about the results:

One would be correct to say it, too.

Could I have done better?  Probably.  A combination of the client asking for brisk return and the fact that the point of the pen was absent tipping affected how much time I could and was willing to apply to the problem.  Filling in that crack more thoroughly would add time and effort, then fixing the visual damage that filling would cause would treble both.

But, my sad laziness aside, I allow myself a little glow of pride at reuniting the fragments.  It may not be reforging of Narsil, but there is a satisfaction to be had from it.  And, if I can lean on a culture that is not my own for a moment; perfection is in the hands of the Almighty, and for a mortal to attempt it is to draw divine wrath.  So you see, it’s really an exercise in lightning avoidance.

Today’s pen: TWSBI Mini (link forthcoming)
Today’s ink: Herbin Éclat de Saphir

2 Responses to “Imperfection”

  1. I think it looks pretty darned good, myself.

Leave a Reply

 
