What's up at Ravens March.

Vintage pens-Handmade books-Silly statements

Capitulation

Posted by Dirck on 21 September, 2012

OK.  Fine.  I give in.

What you you mean, “What are you on about?”  Oh, right, you don’t have access to the super-secret stats page.  Well, I mentioned a wild freak earlier in the month, and I’ve had another spasm this week, which means that rather over a thousand search engine hits have come from my few sidelong mentions of a blue steam locomotive this month.  Well, it’s Friday, it’s film time, and I’m willing to bow to popular opinion.  I will urge the kids at home to watch for the fountain pen in this episode, just to not entirely abandon my usual focus:

Today’s pen (also blue and archaic): Parker Duofold
Today’s ink: Herbin Vert Empire

3 Responses to “Capitulation”

  1. Maja said

    My husband and I don’t have children of our own, but we learned about Thomas & friends when my cousin from California came up for a visit with her four-year son, who kept talking about a “misty island rescue” and “joby wood”. We didn’t know what he was talking about until we asked his mother.

    • I’m not in the “TV = Babysitter” camp, but even with the furious marketing appended to it, I actually recommend the series as sufficiently entertaining for adults who find themselves faced with the inevitable prospect of watching children’s programming. One of the PBS feeds we get here has a veritable HOUR OF POWER weekdays, with this show followed by “Peep and the Big Wide World”. Sixty solid, ad-free minutes of stuff the parents don’t go mad watching.

Leave a Reply

 
