What's up at Ravens March.

Vintage pens-Handmade books-Silly statements

Weary.

Posted by Dirck on 19 July, 2012

Why is it that I get treble the usual number of visitors on days I post nothing?  There’s some kind of life-lesson somehow bound up in this, I’m sure.

A question I’m better able to answer is this; why was I not here yesterday?  Able, but I find as I open the page to begin, a little hesitant, as it’s both aside from the point of the blog and lifts the skirts on the family’s life for a non-comedic purpose.  However, since the lingering effects are putting me off the discussion of pens, deportment and similar curmudgeonry, I might as well press on.

The scheduled reason for not appearing yesterday is a neeting with some Trained Professionals on the matter of my son.  He is, we were told in the culmination of several months of intermittent observation, not autistic, a statement backed up with reference to the DSM-IV and some other more obscure psychological assessment tools.  He is, however, the possessor of Pervasive Developmental Disorder Not Otherwise Specified; this, and even more so its festive acronym PDD-NOS, is best synopsized as the very thing my wife and I in our simple layman’s way have explained as him being not demonstrably autistic but having a couple of little weaknesses in his onward development that would suggest autism if not for some other contradictory behaviours.  Well… semi-layman’s way.  I do have a BA in psych, after all, even if it is old enough to vote and never really used.

In any event, it is nice to have an official designation which carries with the comforting message that it’s nothing we’ve done wrong, apart from recklessly lashing our genetic material together.  It is interesting that this news was delivered in an extremely hesistant, as if we might fly into a rage at the suggestion that there’s something wrong with our son (despite the months of previous collaborative effort), or perhaps at the proposition that whatever it it, it’s not autism.  Given the oddities of human behaviour I’ve observed, I suppose they may well have experienced both sorts of incoherency.  They seemed, in fact, at a bit of a loss to handle people who thanked them for their care and were anxious for suggestions as to what to do next.

It’s far from the end of the world, and things look fairly positive.  That’s what kept me from looking in yesterday.  However, as similar past events indicate, I usually put my nose in and mention that I’m not here.  There was another matter at hand, and the distraction it provided led to my slight incivility.  In this, I’ll be less specific, and merely say that my wife’s father is not well, possibly through his own actions (which may or may not have a conscious genesis), and this is causing some disruption in the usual flow of the lives of his family and their hangers-on (that’s me!).

Today’s pen: Sheaffer Junior
Today’s ink: Herbin’s Vert Empire

Leave a Reply

 
