What's up at Ravens March.

Vintage pens-Handmade books-Silly statements

Chasing a Point

Posted by Dirck on 4 July, 2012

This is, I think, the last reference I’ll make to the efforts of the past vacation, and unlike yesterday’s entry, I am without a blush bragging.

This was, in fact, about the first thing I got stuck into once I’ve finished with my cycle in the hyperbaric chamber to avoid the bends that the end of The Regular Job might bring on.  It was also, I must assume, thus preserved from the dunderhead affliction that I’ve spoken of in the past two entries.  That’s a good thing, as it happens, because the pen I worked on was not mine, and so wandering through the gardens of my fancy really wasn’t on.

The pen was a Waterman Maestro (and the fact that I had it in the house gave me an excuse to run up a page for the model) which had been dropped.  Here’s a picture of the problem:

Peace? Victory? Two? The pen never explained the gesture.

This picture, as most of the ones I take for the purpose, doesn’t really show the problem so well.  To illustrate the damage, press the first two fingers on your hand (either one) against a table so the bend back to the point where the tension just begins to be uncomfortable.  It’s not optimal for the function of a pen, to be honest.

The work on this pen is a bit of a marker to the end of a period in my life, as it’s the last item of point-work I took on before publicly admitting that I will take on point work.  This and the previous few I undertook were predicated on either the pen’s owner asking if I could and finding, “Well… I’ll try, but if it looks like I’m going to wreck it I’m stopping” a sufficient surety, or on the pen’s owner lamenting the semi-destruction of a pen in a forum and not panicking when I sidled up to them in a chat message with something like, “Say, how’d you like to let me practice on your pen?  No charge!”  The owner of the Maestro was in this latter camp, and his bravery has been rewarded thus:

Those wishing to find fault may start with the plating that flaked off during the procedure.  Pray note, though, that the stuff missing around the section was off when I got it, and the owner was warned it was a likely consequence.

Now, I start off by saying that I’m bragging, but I have to put a caveat on the horn-tooting; I’ve not yet heard back from the owner.  I thought the pen tested out pretty well, but I am as capable of self-deception as the next guy– about 38% of the articles here are sterling proofs of my own fallibility in this area.  It may be that what I think was darn good work turns out to be a grave disappointment to one who know the pen before the fall.  I may brag unrestrictedly only of the owner says “Bang-up job!  Superb! &ct!”… and really, even then, I shouldn’t.  Something else I contemplate fairly regularly here is the ongoing willingness of the gods to punish hubris, and I’ve read enough classical literature to know that I want to stay well clear of the muzzle of that particular gun.

…and because I know some of my intermittent readers have backgrounds in metalwork and/or armouring, I’ll own up to the mis-use of technical terms in the title.  I burnished that point; clearly it’s not been chased at all.

Today’s pen: Sheaffer Admiral
Today’s ink: Mont Blanc Royal Blue

One Response to “Chasing a Point”

  1. I brag a very little, perhaps. From a subsequent email sent by the client:
    “I have to say that you exceeded my expectations. I am very pleased to be able to return my pen to its rightful place in my shirt pocket.”

Leave a Reply

 
