What's up at Ravens March.

Vintage pens-Handmade books-Silly statements

Post-Haste!

Posted by Dirck on 27 October, 2011

I’m anxious to be at The Great Work, but I needed to get this off my chest.  I was watching a bit of Top Gear during the brief window of TV time offered by site, son and housework, and in it The Hamster and Captain Slow were engaged in one of the silly races the show frequently engages in.  They were trying to get from the Scilly Isles to the Orkneys faster than a letter they had just mailed.

I’ve embedded a Google map, to give a sense of the undertaking.  A bit over 900 miles (or, for those of us in the 21st century, nearly 1,500 km).  That’s not an insubstantial drive, so I’m going to forebear from my usual bashing of the English sense of what a “long” distance is.  What arrested my attention was the time-frame; the letter, dropped in a common red box with domestic postage on it at 8:30 am, would be delivered at that great remove by noon the following day.

NOON. The NEXT day.

Since our recent postal strike, I’ve been a little more aware of Canada Post’s movements (fearing the degree of disgruntlement the “settlement” of that event might cause).  Yesterday I got an item dropped right at a postal outlet using domestic postage, on the 17th of this month.  I grant, it travelled 1,000 more kilometers to get here from Ontario, but still….

My complex hatred/envy/love of the UK is restoked, as is my similar emotional involvment with my own nation and its postal service.

Today’s pen: Sheaffer Valiant TM touchdown (because that eyedropper from Tuesday has burnt some bridges)
Today’s ink: Pilot Iroshizuku Fuyu-Syogun (grey)

Leave a Reply

 
