What's up at Ravens March.

Vintage pens-Handmade books-Silly statements

Curse of the Megacephalon

Posted by Dirck on 3 October, 2011

Over the weekend, my mother rooted some old hats out of the childhood home’s basement, and offered them for the use of her children.  All three are the “stingy” style of fedora, popular in the late 1950s and early ’60s and now returning to style; not quite my preferred style, but… well, free hats!   Two were her father’s, Stetsons with local mens’-wear shop markings.  One appears to have been my father’s, as it’s by a German maker and from a shop in Eindhoven.

I discover that my maternal grandfather wore a 7 ¼ hat.  That is a lot smaller than what I wear, and that’s two hats that I don’t get, and which I hope my brother will appreciate with his more matrilineal head.  The European job is a very dark green, with a strangely high crown, and the original ownership is further strengthened by my father trying it on and finding it to fit quite nicely.

…which means that the tendency to large heads in my father’s line is expressed even more fully in me.  It’s tauntingly close to fitting, but not so close I could get away with it.  I am about to start prowling the internet for low-cost hat stretchers.

This curse is apt to carry on, my poor son unable to wear any but custom-built hats; my wife tried on all that was on offer, and found that she could only manage the green German, too.  He’s got it coming at him from both sides.

Today’s pen, looking positively petite held up beside my head: Lamy 2000
Today’s ink:  Herbin’s Perle Noir

Leave a Reply

 
