What's up at Ravens March.

Vintage pens-Handmade books-Silly statements

Lights Gone Out

Posted by Dirck on 29 September, 2011

In addition to wishing some words banished from the language, the Great Work is threatening to lay me out under an nice thick clinical depression.  This is hardly from a new discovery, but a result of concentration.  I’m considering at some length the histories of all the pen-makers I’ve sampled the works of, and it distills into a rather grim song:

Once mighty, now fallen.
Once mighty, now fallen.
Once mighty, now fallen.
Once mighty, now fallen.
Once mighty, now reduced.
(repeat)

If it weren’t for occasional holdouts and boisterous new emergences, and the occasional smile from my son, I’d probably give up the effort and spend my days hiding under a desk and listening to my toe-nails growing.  My increasing return to this blog is an indication of my growing inability to face that music.

It’s almost done, though.  Nearly there.

Today’s pen, the work of a damaged survivor: Parker 45 Flighter
Today’s ink, from a hold-out more intact than many: Pelikan 4001 violet

Leave a Reply

 
