What's up at Ravens March.

Vintage pens-Handmade books-Silly statements

Collateral Damage

Posted by Dirck on 27 September, 2011

In the Great Work, I’ve been reviewing my heap’o’pens as mentioned earlier.  I begin to have tingles in an uncomfortable area; the notion that I have not only more pens than I need but more pens than is… not “sensible”… perhaps what I want to say is “defensible”.  I love my pens, in a way appropriate to a pen-human interaction, but there is such a thing as too much.  It’s a similar concept to that of having too many pets; above a certain threshhold, there’s just too many to give sufficient attention to.

This is another of my foolish resolution entries; I’m culling the herd… eventually.  Once the new site is up and running (and you may be able to see its top-masts on the horizon even now), I’ll be setting up a slightly better commercial mode than I’ve had to date, and a vast swarm of decent pens excess to my own capacities to see used properly will be offered to the world.

Irony would have one person buy them all, of course.  I hope not.  I’d rather be Johnny Appleseed than the Comstock lode.

Today’s pen, probably a keeper: Parker 45 Flighter
Today’s ink, distributed with some freedom: Pelikan 4001 violet

Leave a Reply

 
