What's up at Ravens March.

Vintage pens-Handmade books-Silly statements

Regretful Smurf

Posted by Dirck on 21 September, 2011

That’s me.  At least, I’m feeling about three inches tall and somewhat blue.  That, folks, is the power of reflecting upon one’s actions; I suspect the persistently cheerful have little in the way of retrospection.

What I’m in a self-directed snit about is a something I wrote a couple of days ago, in what was meant to be in a spirit of playful fun, but which in this tone-of-voice-free environment comes across as, at least potentially, dismissive.  Have a look:

2 Responses to “Banner Day!”

  1. 16 September, 2011 at 10:27 am  Hey!! The Pennant is a big deal! Enjoy it and look for my name :-)

See?  What I’d meant as a mere counterfeit of childish excitement takes on a tinge of “who cares about you?” even to me, with full knowledge of my internal state at the time.  Thus, Regretful Smurf.

In as much as such things can be put right, let me say that I have actually used my hard-won power of literacy, and applied myself to the text of the magazine.  I have made note of those both mentioned and contributing, as is only correct, and I am a better person (or at least a better pen-scholar) for it.  And I add somewhat to my current assumed title by being unsure which of the not very numerous Julies matches the author of the blog (rather more entertaining than my own) linked to above, but I am in varying degrees impressed by all of them.  And, despite the overhanging cloud of comprehended error, I did enjoy it.

Having publicly admitted the burden of my ill-considered actions, I’m sure I’ll get over the diminishing and cyanotic effects presently.  Learn from my mistake, folks– the brain is there to be used with some regularity.

Today’s pen: Sheaffer Valiant (fat TD)
Today’s ink: Herbin’s Vert Empire

4 Responses to “Regretful Smurf”

  1. There’re always emoticons… o_O

    (Ducks)

    • Ducks? Of course there’s ducks, and geese as well. They always gather at this time of year.

      (point proved re: limitations of all-text interaction, he walks into a bar (yes, that IS an opening))

  2. No need to be regretful – I took your comment in the vein that it was intended.

    P.S. I’m the new Treasurer.

    • Glad to hear it; I’d hoped/suspected I was making more of it that there was, but ye olde conscience refused to let me rely on that.

      Also, congratulations and condolences on the position (having held a similar post in a much less extensive enterprise leads me to think that both are appropriate) 😉

Leave a Reply

 
