What's up at Ravens March.

Vintage pens-Handmade books-Silly statements

Change of Attitude

Posted by Dirck on 20 September, 2011

I got a little auction lot of writing implements yesterday.  The prize, a Parker “51”, was as recoverable as the slightly blurry pictures had made it out to be, and I discovered with some glee that there was a slightly exotic Esterbrook included which I’d not noticed.  For less that  $20, a darn good haul.

There were also several mechanical pencils, including three Eversharps from before 1930; the ornate, nail-shaped things that Victorians would recognize as pencils.  Two are working freely.  One is jammed.

…and I’m desperate to discover how to set it right!  This is a new thing, since I’ve previously been no more than cordial with pencils; I feel some small joy if one appears as a pen’s consort, but the absence or malfunction doesn’t worry me too much.  Didn’t worry me too much.  I wonder if this is a sensation specific to this one pencil, which is quite a confection of silver plate and chevronnel chasing, or if it marks a hitherto unnoticed revolution in my view of things?

For financial reasons, I really hope it’s the former.

Today’s unaccompanied pen: Eversharp Skyline (I was in a mood for a flex pen, and this is my most limber)
Today’s ink: Lamy blue-black (also part of the mood)

Leave a Reply

 
