What's up at Ravens March.

Vintage pens-Handmade books-Silly statements

Don’t Stop the Presses

Posted by Dirck on 8 September, 2011

I have, through distraction, been rather disappointing in my performance here of late.  All I can say to that is, I believe it will be worth it in the end.

On that note, I am going to do that most weasly of blog acts and provide a link to something that is more interesting than me.  A local artist’s colony has lately held a fundraiser for the installation and/or restoration of an old letterpress recovered from a languishing disused basement.  Disappointment with me is reflexive in this case, as I had meant to go to the event, but it appears that my absence signified little beyond missing an interesting frolic.

The reason this is news I care about is two-fold.  Fold one is an abstract delight in another archaic means of making marks of paper being functional once more.  Fold two is that a repressed bookbinder might view such a creature as a source of interesting things to bind….

Today’s pen:  Sheaffer Vigilant (picture to appear as soon as I actually take one.  What an oversight!)
Today’s ink: Wancher Asuka

Leave a Reply

 
