What's up at Ravens March.

Vintage pens-Handmade books-Silly statements

Proselytizer of Simple Pleasures

Posted by Dirck on 11 August, 2011

This is a revisiting of an old topic, but as it’s just happened to me it will also now happen to you.  Unless you stop reading, which is possible.

I was brought up short while making a note with my new desk pen a little while ago.  Something about the combination of the point and the line of ink it deposited made my heart resonate in a low-pitched tone of joy.  There is something a little more antique in the marks this Sheaffer makes than those produced by the “51” it replaced, and for some reason I actually attended to the nature of these marks.

This is why I try to press fountain pens on people, I think.  It’s not a concern for the arm-joints of humanity, and it’s only somewhat an urge to replace an inefficient disposable menace to the planet.  The world would be better if everyone could get a jolt of happiness just from doodling on a scrap of paper.

…and I’m not quite sure that the lack of vast profits separates me sufficiently from a drug pusher.  At least no one goes into a frenzy of interstate mayhem under the influence of ink.

On a less mystical note– today I start in on the Parkers page of the Great New Site.  This is a big chapter, but I’m definitely on the downhill side of the trip.

Today’s pen: Parker “51″ Demi
Today’s ink:  Herbin’s Poussière de Lune

Leave a Reply

 
