What's up at Ravens March.

Vintage pens-Handmade books-Silly statements

The Mighty Sieve!

Posted by Dirck on 27 October, 2009

I am, despite occasional evidence here to the contrary, literate. This is a status which I’m not at any pains to conceal, as certain sci-fi stories posit will be the case in the future. I am, in fact, reasonably proud of how broad my written vocabulary spreads.

There are drawbacks to literacy, though. The most constant one is the stream on people who appear asking “How’s this word spelled?”, which despite frequency is less noxious than the constant stream of people online who can’t or won’t bother to sort out the various spellings of words pronouced “your” and “their”. There is, however, a pitfall for the literate which can go unnoticed until one lands at the bottom of it.

Writing things down means you don’t have to remember them. Not having to remember them means your hippocampus may become whimisical and unbiddable, to the point where not writing things down essentially ensures you won’t remember them.

My current example and exasperation is a box of pens belonging to a client, including the one alluded to yesterday. As I sit at The Regular Job typing this, it sits happily on a chair about seven kilometers away, wanting only a trip to the post office to see it on its way to the Saint of Patience and Easy-going Nature to whom it is due. I did not write myself a note to bring it along today, nor did I place it where I would in fact trip over it on my way out of the house. Thus, my literacy leads to another 24 hour delay in the pens’ return.

I have made a note to feel very foolish about this for the rest of the week.

Today’s notable pen: Parker Duofold
Today’s memorable ink: Herbin’s Poussière de Lune

Post Scriptus: In a craven effort to win a free notebook, and thus garner for myself something in which to write down important things to remember (“3pm Friday: DUCK!”), I post a link to a reviewer who finds a surplus of nice notebooks present.

Leave a Reply

 
